Losing It

October 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

The New New Yorker

Courtney Hilden

I had joked with my friend Jennifer that a large part of traveling was being zen about various kinds of mistakes, and this was one of those moments where I needed zen.  For whatever reason, I have one of those body languages that gives off both knowledge and friendliness, because people are always asking me for help.  It’s not that I would mind helping, but usually when someone asks, I’m lost myself.  I’m the last person who should direct people, especially since I hate being lost and given incorrect information.

This happened today.  As I was sitting on a bench trying to decide if I was on the right platform, a woman walked up to me and asked where the nearest elevator was.  As I’d never been anywhere near this subway before, I hadn’t the faintest idea, and said I didn’t know.  She huffed at me angrily and asked a young Latino man standing near me.  After she disappeared I noticed a sign clearly stating where the elevators were (on the other side of the platform.)

And then I proceeded to get on a subway that was an express train, which meant it flew eight stops past where I wanted to get off.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Losing It at Arthur: the Art Zine.

meta

