New Yorkers Can Sometimes Be Friendly

November 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

The New New Yorker

by Courtney Hilden

I was oddly expecting to end up talking to a transvestite during the Halloween Parade.  This is Greenwich Village, after all.  I was more surprised by how few of them I saw, a man dressed as Princess Leia being the highlight.  The one I ended up spending the most time with looked like one of the people profiled in Paris is Burning, which may or may not have been intentional.

She spent most of the parade, where we, squeezed together on the sidewalk, talking about the costumes of people.  He yelled at a Michael Jackson for not being better dressed and for not dancing.  And he told me that he wanted a bunch of costumes for Christmas.

One of his companions was dressed as some mysterious crime fighter that I didn’t recognize.  They were quieter, but they kept smiling at me.

I was dressed as a witch that night, and when asked if I was a bad witch or not, I replied that I was a bad witch “if there was a boy involved.”  Everyone standing around laughed.

I was warned a lot before I came here that people would be unfriendly, but I have found that to only be half-true.  In the right circumstances, people are talkative and friendly.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Yorkers Can Sometimes Be Friendly at Arthur: the Art Zine.

meta

