I Walked the Line

November 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

The New New Yorker

by Courtney Hilden

As someone who used to hang around with RCAH students all the time, I picked up various ideas about improving our world and admired programs that put these ideas in actions.  A few years back I read a story about a place called The Highline, a park constructed out of the old highline subway.  Before I came to New York, I often griped about how so much was happening there and that I was never going to enjoy those cultural things because I was in some smaller Midwest town.  But a few days ago, a friend suggested it as a pleasant place to walk, and remembering reading about this particular place, I decided to go. 

It took a bit of wandering to find a way up into it, but once I did, it looked impressive.  Everything looked like it was made out of the train line, even the benches were from slabs of the concrete that the train used to run on.  The architecture of the park itself is impressive, because just about all the things that were part of the old train line are still here, although often redone in new and different ways for walkers and not train riders. 

The park is also worth checking out because of some of the fascinating architecture you can see as you walk around.  Although much of the neighborhood looks industrial, other parts have new, interesting buildings.  Near the end of the park (which stops near 20th Street and 8th Avenue), you can clearly even catch a glimpse of The Empire State Building, which, since 9/11, has been the tallest building in the city.  During my month here, it has become one of my few touchstones, since it has such cultural relevance to the city.  From the apartment I live in I can see this building, and not only does it make me want to sing the recent Jay-Z song, but it also makes me feel like I am part of a big, important place.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Walked the Line at Arthur: the Art Zine.

meta

