An Evening with a Graduate Student

November 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

The New New Yorker

by Courtney Hilden

I had a long, exhausting day, so clearly, this was the time to go out for a drink.  We had ended up at this nice restaurant and bar.  It wasn’t packed, but there weren’t many places to hang out or sit either.  So we had a unstable, little table, just my friend Sarah and I.

Sarah and I had a nice chat.  I’d been so busy the last few weeks and she has been on deadline for a paper that neither of us had really seen each other much.  She’s one of my new friends I’ve made here in the city.  She reminds me a lot of my best friend Ashley, so I guess that Sarah qualifies as my best friend in New York if only because personality-wise they are both so similar.

Sarah is a graduate student, so I find myself wanting to learn more about graduate programs from her.  Before I came to New York, I wanted to go to graduate school.  I didn’t manage to get in, but New York and the internship I’m on are my way of trying to gain the kind of experiences a graduate school wanted to see.  One of the things I didn’t count on was being around graduate students, but that’s okay because it’s an opportunity to learn more.

Sarah told me, among other things that night, that being a graduate student in the U.S. is far harder than it is in the U.K., where she’s from.  She suggested going to school there.  I was expecting her to tell me about how much work it was, but I didn’t expect her to advise me to go the easy route.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Evening with a Graduate Student at Arthur: the Art Zine.

meta

