Surprise

December 3, 2010 § Leave a comment

The New New Yorker

by Courtney Hilden

I often am assigned research projects for this internship, which is fine, since, as an undergraduate, I spent massive amounts of time researching.  This time, I was researching nonviolence and radical thought.  I was searching specifically for courses on radical thought.  The only school I found?  Michigan State.

On one level, I’m really proud of MSU for being awesome enough to teach courses on radical thought and African American literature and other liberal things. On the other hand, I am feeling really sorry for the rest of America. I’ve heard complaining of how liberal universities are for years, but when I actually encounter information about schools, I find that they generally aren’t as radical as anyone would think. And even when I was at MSU, I was often struck by how conservative or apathetic certain members of the student body were.

Possibly I am going about this the wrong way, which is why next week, when I get a chance to talk to Alex, who is my internship coordinator, she’ll have some suggestions.  But in the meantime, I’ve discovered another reason to love MSU, which, considering how long I’ve been gone now, is a surprise.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Surprise at Arthur: the Art Zine.

meta

